Skellingthorpe Railway Station

SKELLINGTHORPE STATION opened to passengers in 1896, and closed in September 1955. The picture by local photographer, Ron Hallam, shows the last train to Lincoln and the fascinating details of railway architecture. The line was completely closed in 1980 and the station buildings, goods shed and sidings cleared to make space for the Community Centre and car park. The signal-box and footbridge were demolished so that the only building remaining is the weighbridge office - now our "Heritage Centre". After years of neglect, due possibly to confusion over ownership, the last vestige of the railway was removed, just over a century from its opening, to make way for the construction of part of the "Sustrans" national cycleway. An encouraging new life, hopefully to be a delightful nature trail linking to the Old Wood and Herby village westwards, and to Lincoln and Washingborough eastwards. JOHN ATKIN *The cover photo and drawings plus other articles about the railway have appeared in earlier "Chats" - history in the making!